Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Floating Into The Night (David Lynch, Angelo Badalamenti, 180g) Vinyl LP

Plain RecordingsSKU lp-9774

debut album including songs from Twin Peaks + Blue Velvet
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Floating Into The Night is Julee Cruise’s first album, produced and arranged by Angelo Badalamenti with David Lynch writing the lyrics. Cruise’s previous singing experience was strictly rooted in loud, theatrical, Broadway-style belting, but Lynch encouraged her to tap into her ‘soft, sad side’ for a song they were working on for the Blue Velvet soundtrack because they couldn’t afford to license This Mortal Coil’s “Song To The Siren.” Lynch and Badalamenti were so impressed with her ability to mirror the ethereal beauty of Liz Fraser on “Mysteries Of Love,” they decided to record a full album with her. The Twin Peaks / Blue Velvet vibe is present throughout, but it’s more song-y, and that’s fine, as Julee Cruise has an exquisite voice. I almost feel like maybe she was destined for more than “the girl who sings the Twin Peaks songs” until she met David Lynch. Floating Into The Night is bolder than a lot of the music its often compared to (basically just the Cocteau Twins), unafraid to play with familiar tropes (jazz, new age) and put a perverted twist on them. “I Remember” starts off innocently enough, but there’s a bizarre left turn that comes about halfway through, like you’re actually watching a Lynch movie. “Falling” is the one you’ll recognize from Twin Peaks, and “The Swan” and “The World Spins” repeat some of the same themes to close out the album. Other highlights: “Floating,” “Into The Night,” “I Float Alone” (sampled by Dean Blunt). This pressing includes a bonus track at the end of side 1, not found on the original. 180g black vinyl with printed inner sleeve, recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • includes untitled bonus track
  • printed inner sleeve
  • limited edition
  • music label: Plain Recordings 2014
reviewed by carparts, bottles & cutlery 07/2018
UPC: 8718469537884


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed