Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Music Works For Industry Vinyl LP

Freedom To SpendSKU lp-8399

experimental electronic soundscapes on vinyl for the 1st time
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$12.95 Original Price$16.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 129 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Another stunner dug up by RVNG Intl. sub-label Freedom To SpendHot on the heals of the excellent Michele Mercure reissue comes this stellar work from Palace Of Lights affiliate Marc Barreca. Music Works For Industry was originally released on cassette back in 1983 on K. Leimer's aforementioned P.O.L. label and showcase Barecca's fascinating sound experiments and minimalist musings. From the label - "No longer than four minutes, no shorter than two, each piece on MWFI is a fragment of modern life. Propaganda transmitted between the click of the remote or the turn of the dial. Friend and collaborator K. Leimer checks Cluster, Steve Reich, Iannis Xenakis, and Morton Subotnick as esoteric influences on MWFI in the album's liner notes, while one might imagine Upton Sinclair, Studs Terkel, or Chris Anderson as egalitarian influences. Made with musicians, performance artists, and a bespoke instrument maker, Barreca combines multiple disciplines into a collective, industrious whole. An experiment fabricated in the synth and tape studio at the artist-run alternative space and/or (Seattle's version of NYC's The Kitchen), Barreca manipulates dynamic sound sources into tidy, minimal arrangements using synthesizers, modified instruments, tape looped voices, and melodic, metallic phrases." Pressed on vinyl for the first time, complete with photocopy replica of the original cassette insert on the cover. Recommended.

  • digital download included
  • music label: Freedom To Spend 2016
reviewed by TKB 03/2017
UPC: 22618056


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed