Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Live At Royal Albert Hall 1998 Vinyl 2LP

Let Them Eat VinylSKU lp-9706

classic live session from Bristol downtempo crew
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

The Massive Attack live concert experience is something to behold if you ever get the chance. They flash all sorts of lasers and ominous, anarchic phrases up on the screens behind them and wear full black outfits with sunglasses like they just stepped out of The Matrix, and bring out a revolving cast of heavy hitters that have appeared on their records over the years: Horace Andy, Elizabeth Fraser, Tracy ThornMartina Topley-Bird, Hope Sandoval, et al. Over the course of their first three albums they morphed from a bona-fide “UK hip-hop” troupe to being the world’s premier purveyors of dark, paranoid hacker electronica (don’t call it tr*p-h*p), and it’s as if their brooding, cavernous music was made specifically for this experience (as well as big budget film soundtracks). The show documented on this release is probably the best you could ask for, recorded just three months after the release of Mezzanine (it’s unclear whether or not Andrew “Mushroom” Vowles had quit the band yet, but I think that’s him on the cover). Naturally, it’s heavy on tracks from their third (and arguably best) album, with Liz Fraser in a very rare appearance reprising her role on “Teardrop,” and Horace Andy performing selected tracks from each of their albums to date. 3D and Daddy G hold down Protection standouts “Karmacoma” and “Eurochild” without Tricky, who by this point had fucked off and was already like 5 albums deep into his solo career. “Heat Miser,” “Risingson,” “Spying Glass” and a sprawling 13-min version of “Group Four” are other major standouts. 13 tracks in total, spread out over four sides of vinyl, housed in deluxe gatefold jacket.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Let Them Eat Vinyl 2016
reviewed by dissolved girl 06/2018
UPC: 09524856


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed