Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Fantasies (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Metric MusicSKU lp-10540

remastered contemporary Canadian indie classic
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Fantasies is Metric’s dream come true. After a bit of a pause following 2005’s rock-leaning Live It Out, the Canadian indie pop act returned in 2009 with the self-released Fantasies, a wild success and harbinger of the decreasing importance of major labels in the music biz. Fantasies is more hopeful and lighter in tone than its predecessor and sounds closer to the group's early work, with founding member and singer Emily Haines banging out chords on keyboard more often than her axe. Even if you're not familiar by name, you’ll probably know a few tunes off of this record. “Help I’m Alive” begins with strangled guitar and up-front vocals, angular riffs shredded by klaxon synth freakouts. “Gold Guns Girls” was inspired by the film Scarface, 75mph quasi-motorik drums and endless catchy vocal vamps. The truncated breaks and chirpy guitar riffs of “Stadium Love” found an appropriate home in hockey areas as an official song for the Toronto Blue Jays and Edmonton Oilers. This is the 2017 pressing of the album, which sounds far superior to the original 2009 edition.

  • clear splatter colored vinyl
  • housed in gatefold sleeve with lyrics
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 2009
  • music label: Metric Music 2017
reviewed by Alexandre Français 05/2019
UPC: 060270087118


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed