Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

MM..Food (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

RhymesayersSKU hh-5164

edible metaphors for days on 2004 Rhymesayers outing
2 Reviews
| Ask a question
sale $37.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 379 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

There's a lot of hubbub in the rap cognoscenti around this new release from Daniel Dumile, man of a thousand (well, at least 5) names. He's hardly been out of sight since 1999's Operation Doomsday, but a new release under the name that seems nearest to his heart is something special. This album is organized around the food "concept," but as always the song titles are simply jumping-off points for Doom's uninhibited imagination. Over his own Lite FM-inspired beats ("Hoe Cakes" loops Anita Baker), Doom muses over topics close to home (girls, weed, friends), always with an eye to absurd and apt detail that places him in the company of the greatest poets. Indeed, in a just world, Dumile would be a poet laureate, officially recognized for his genius-level skill. Take a look at how he treats wack rappers, a grade school-level subject worn to threadbare tatters by a generation of MCs. Doom finds seemingly endless ways to cover it ("MCs is crabs in a barrel pass the Old Bay," "Out of work jerks since they shut down Chippendale's"), lacing almost every line with multiple internal rhymes that place the lyrics halfway between poetry and tongue-twisters ("If I had a dime for every rhymer that bust guns / I'd have a cool mil for my sons in trust funds"). And the true virtuoso makes the very difficult look easy: songs are filled with nonchalant phrases that stick in your skull ("frown like the first time you taste couscous")- and just try to repeat some of those palate-mangling syllables. By today's standards (hey Nas), the album is short; barely cracking 45 minutes. Two of the songs were previously released (the Stones Throw fan club 45 "One Beer" and the Molemen-produced gem "Kon Queso," called "Yee Haw" when it was an indy 12-inch single), and the middle 5 minutes of the CD are taken up by a funny and beautifully absurd collage of found sound. Grounds for complaints, perhaps, but I'm not left wanting more. The collabos are done tastefully and without fanfare, with Lab hero Count Bass D's "Potholderz" the standout. Also check quick rotation favorites "Guinnessez," "Kon Karne" and "Deep Fried Frenz." A necessary album for the true school head; MM..Food is perhaps a bit older and more cynical, but just as clever and exciting. New 2020 pressing on pink and green colored wax with nice heavy duty gatefold; this one won't hang around for long!

  • pink & green colored double vinyl pressing
  • housed in glossy old school tip-on gatefold sleeve
  • digital download included
  • original release year: 2004
  • music label: Rhymesayers 2020
reviewed by the mgmnt 2005
UPC: 826257008411


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed