Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Good (180g) Vinyl 2LP

Run Out GrooveSKU lp-11170

expanded 1992 debut from Boston-area blues-based alt rockers, very limited
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Morphine was formed by formed by vocalist/bassist Mark Sandman, saxophonist Dana Colley and drummer Jerome Deupree in Cambridge, Mass in 1989. One of the more unique acts of the alternative rock / Grunge era, they combine blues, jazz, and hard rock elements into a distinct blend, topped off with Sandman’s crooning vocals. Unlike many of the guitar-based bands of the era, the group’s sound is based around 2 string electric bass backed with baritone sax, leading to a nearly Cramps-esque sound dubbed “low-rock” by the music press. Good was the group’s first studio album and was released in 1992 on Boston indie Accurate before a more publicized reissue on Rykodisc in 1993, the record was produced by Paul Q Kolderie. Title track “Good” is low-slung riffs and rumbling toms, low BPM but brimming with intensity. “You Look Like Rain” is a smoky, jazzy number, murmured vocals with layers of reverberating backup, lots of triangle, and a slash of sax. This edition of the album has been remastered from the original source tapes, and has been expanded with an extra LP of bonus tracks licensed from the Mark Sandman estate. The bonus tracks include voice memos, unique edits and alternate takes that provide new insights into the creative process of this record. Packaged in an individually numbered tip-on style gatefold sleeve, features full album lyrics and liner notes.

  • double black vinyl pressing
  • tip-on style gatefold sleeve, includes liner notes and full album lyrics 
  • limited edition, individually numbered out of 2925 copies
  • original release year: 1992
  • music label: Run Out Groove 2020
reviewed by SCORCH & THE MORNING X 03/2020
UPC: 081227910495


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed