Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Yasiin Gaye - The Return Vinyl 2LP

Soul MatesSKU hh-3936

2nd volume from the collaboration of your dreams
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Don’t call it a mash-up. Amerigo Gazaway is back with his outstanding re-imaginings of Marvin Gaye and Yasiin Bey (aka The Artist Formerly Known As Mos Def). “Mash-up” is an outdated term that just doesn’t do justice to the skill and complexity that goes in to Amerigo’s work. This new volume targets more of Marvin’s overlooked accomplishments as a producer and interweaves them with Bey’s tangled raps. The genius of these collaborations comes to bear on tracks like “B is For Beef” which seemingly has the two musicians in conversation. “Sex, Love & Money”, “Anna’s Love Song” and “A Message To The People” are all prime examples of the technical prowess mood matching that makes these albums special. Other standouts include appearances from The Temptations, Chuck Berry and Talib Kweli to name a few. Putting these two artists into an impossible collaboration that works so seamlessly as to feel like a proper production in it’s own right sets Amerigo well above any other mash-up you might find on the interwebs.

reviewed by boumtje-boumtje 082114



Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed