Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Outro Tempo II - Electronic And Contemporary Music From Brazil, 1984-1996 Vinyl 2LP

Music From MemorySKU fr-4155

80s/90s Braziliian synth, new wave, DIY + ambient rarities
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $36.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 369 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Long-awaited sequel to one of our all-time favorite Brazilian compilations! While the totalitarian 1970s inspired a generation of musicians to pick up their instruments and fight the power of the military dictatorship (read: MPB), a new generation of musicians were thinking outside of the box and picking up new technologies that were generally considered cheap and soulless. Up until the release of Outro Tempo in 2017, we’d seen plenty of excellent compilations examining Brazil’s forays into psych, disco and boogie, but none surveying the country’s experiments with synthesizers and DIY electronics. Anyone who’s dug into Brazilian records will tell you that it’s a bottomless pit of musical gold, and it seems Music From Memory only scratched the surface with the first volume of Outro Tempo, as this collection is certainly as mesmerizing, if not more. Tracks like Jorge Degas’ “Ilha Grande” and Priscilla Ermel’s “Americua” exhibit the signature (albeit synthesized) tropical sound we come to associate with Brazil, but the more imaginative stuff is by far the most compelling: May East’s party starter “Maraka,” Edson Natale’s atmospheric “Nina Maika,” Low Key Hackers’ quirky and sinister “Emotionless,” Chance’s alluringly freaky “Intro-Amazônia,” Nelson Angelo’s therapeutic “Harmonia De Agua.” Holy smokes. The avid diggers at MFM have again poured their hearts into the extensive research required for a comp of this magnitude, and the results are extraordinary: 20 tracks pressed on double vinyl, housed in deluxe gatefold sleeve with extensive liner notes. Recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold jacket + printed insert contain extensive liner notes + photos
  • music label: Music From Memory 2019
reviewed by laughable butane bob 09/2019


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed