Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Tauhid Vinyl LP

Anthology RecordingsSKU fr-3732

1967 free jazz masterpiece from John Coltrane's "son"
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

"Fire music." Recorded at Englewood, NJ's Van Gelder Studios in 1966 while Pharoah Sanders was still working with John Coltrane, Tauhid is the saxophonist's debut album for Impulse! Records. Starting with "Upper Egypt & Lower Egypt," a deep 16-minute journey that's emotional, uplifting, and full of "layered mosaic rhythmic grooves" and "poly-melodic heart cries," the LP perhaps is Sanders' most astrally and spiritually inclined. "Japan," a melodic 4-minute chanter that almost acts as an interlude, follows, and the three-part suite, which consists of "Aum," the freest moment of the album; "Venus," a composition marked by the captivating interplay between fierce and gentle; and "Capricorn Rising," a return to the opening notes of the record that trigger feelings of entrancement and love, closes out the record. Without a doubt, Tauhid captures the finest jazz expressions from Sanders, and it explains why he is praised as "the greatest living link between John Coltrane, Kamasi Washington, and the next generation of this great lineage." Features Sonny sharrock on guitar; Dave Burrell on piano; Henry Grimes on bass; Roger Blank on drums; and Nat Bettis on percussion. Recommended.

  • limited edition reissue
  • music label: Anthology Recordings 1967 / 2017
reviewed by nakaveli 11/2017
UPC: 02483976


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed