Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

On The Beach Vinyl 2LP

PheelcoSKU fr-3206

avant populist Chicago jazz classic reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$17.95 Original Price$21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Philip Cohran is a linchpin of Chicago's jazz world. He was a part of the Sun Ra Arkestra from 1959-1961 but declined to join them when they left Chicago. In 1965 Cohran was instrumental in the formation of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM). The AACM gave rise to artists like Anthony Braxton, Henry Threadgill, Leo Smith, the Art Ensemble of Chicago, and countless others. His Artistic Heritage Ensemble featured future Miles Davis guitarist Pete Cosey, Motown percussionist "Master" Henry Gibson and a few horn players that would go on to become a part of Earth, Wind and Fire. On The Beach is a collection of innovative and visionary material recorded by the Artistic Heritage Ensemble in the late 60s. The Ensemble combined elements of African rhythms, funk, and jazz improvisation in pieces that were structured around riffs and melodies created by Cohran's frankiphone, an amplified African thumb piano. Layer by layer horns, guitarists, singers, and percussionists add space and texture to the ever evolving songs. It's radical music that helped usher the past into the future, taking pieces of what came before to make something entirely original and new. This repress the Artistic Heritage Ensemble's first album includes two tracks never before on vinyl, a live version of "Unity," which plays out at a more languid pace than the original, and "Frankiphone Blues." The latter of the two pieces was the first modal blues according to Cohran. Whatever the case, it is a tremendous piece that features shifting harmonics over an expanding groove. Essential material.

  • music label: Zulu Records 1967 / Pheelco Entertainment 2015
reviewed by Cool Hand 07/2015
UPC: 57142788


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed