• Prince: Originals Deluxe Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP+CD
  • Prince: Originals Deluxe Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP+CD
  • Prince: Originals Deluxe Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP+CD
  • Prince: Originals Deluxe Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP+CD

Originals Deluxe Edition (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP+CD

Warner Brothers

↳ unheard original versions of Prince-penned hits for Morris Day, Shiela E, Vanity 6 + more

Vinyl 2LP+CD sale $53.95 $59.95 Stock Email
Earn up to 539 Reward Points with this purchase! more info

Writing for others allowed Prince the chance to fully explore interesting directions that might not have suited the idealistic trajectory of his solo career. Got a sick country ballad that doesn’t really work on Sign O’ The Times? All good, just give it to Kenny Rogers (“You’re My Love”). That new funk song you wrote sound too much like your old shit? Morris Day & The Time will take it (“Jungle Love”)! Originals pulls back the curtain to reveal these prototypical versions - ranging from scratch demos to fully-fleshed out songs - used as a reference for the artists who would make them famous. We’ve known Prince was behind these classics all along: his singular style cuts through flesh and bone, and the use of ‘secret’ aliases like Jamie Starr and Joey Coco was futile before the records even went to print. Still, hearing the Purple One himself doing “Sex Shooter,” “Manic Monday,” “Holly Rock” and “Gigolos Get Lonely Too” (jeez, this one!) gives us chills. He reportedly left behind so much unreleased music, the Paisley Park estate has claimed they could potentially released a new Prince album every year for the next hundred years if they wanted to. And although the Purple One - infamously overprotective of his recorded archives - is almost certainly rolling in his grave here, I mean, we can’t NOT jam this. 15 tracks altogether: 14 previously unheard originals plus the original recording of “Nothing Compares 2 U,” which was previously teased as a 7-inch. This is the deluxe edition on purple colored double vinyl with CD and booklet included. Recommended.

  • 180 gram purple colored double vinyl pressing
  • CD + booklet included
  • limited edition
  • tracklist: 01 “Sex Shooter” (Apollonia 6) 02 “Jungle Love” (The Time) 03 “Manic Monday” (The Bangles) 04 “Noon Rendezvous” (Sheila E.) 05 “Make-Up” (Vanity 6) 06 “100 MPH” (Mazarati) 07 “You’re My Love” (Kenny Rogers) 08 “Holly Rock” (Sheila E.) 09 “Baby, You’re A Trip” (Jill Jones) 10 “The Glamorous Life” (Sheila E.) 11 “Gigolos Get Lonely Too” (The Time) 12 “Love… Thy Will Be Done” (Martika) 13 “Dear Michaelangelo” (Sheila E.) 14 “Wouldn’t You Love To Love Me?” (Taja Sevelle) 15 “Nothing Compares 2 U” (The Family/Sinéad O’Connor)
  • music label: Warner Brothers 2019
reviewed by Isosceles Kramer 06/2019

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question
Free Shipping on orders over $99 to the Contiguous US
You have no items in your cart
Free Shipping for orders over $99
shipping to Contiguous US
Edit Cart
Continue Shopping