Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Kid A Vinyl 2LP

XL RecordingsSKU lp-8628

1st double LP pressing, Radiohead's 4th from 2000
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $37.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 379 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

It’s hard to imagine a world today without Kid A. In October of 2000, the incorporation of sampling, synthesizers and computers in rock music was anything but commonplace. Radiohead took a giant leap on the heels of their most successful album to date and dove head first into IDM, techno and ambient music. Many fans were initially dumbfounded, but an entire generation of future musicians took inspiration from their bold dismissal of traditional rock instrumentation and arrangement. Recording sessions nearly dissolved the band; with Thom Yorke insisting that guitar and drums had no place on certain tracks, the band members were forced to reinvent their roles in the group, instead focusing on vocoder, modular synths, ondes martenot and sound processing. The few instances of straight-ahead rock (“Optimistic,” “National Anthem”) are some of the best pieces in their oevre, but the more experimental tracks (“Everything In It’s Right Place,” “Idioteque,” the title track) are by far the most potent. “Idioteque” remains a deadly peak-time tool in techno and electro sets to this day. Previously only available on vinyl as a double 10" set, this is the first time Kid A has been released on full sized 12" LPs (and don’t miss Kid A’s criminally-underrated companion piece, Amnesiac, also reissued on 12"). The album comes in the same original gatefold sleeve with artwork by Stanley Donwood and Tchock (Thom Yorke). 10 tracks total with digital download included. Recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • first time pressed on 12" LPs
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ printed inner sleeves
  • digital download included
  • original release year: 2000
  • music label: XL Recordings 2016
reviewed by peanut dust 07/2017


A post shared by @turntablelab on


UPC: 634904078201


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed