Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Going Up Vinyl LP

Espacial DiscosSKU fr-3766

cosmic boogie essential back in print
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $28.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 289 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

“When i’m far out in the night and searching for a light, there’s darkness all around and you’re nowhere to be found…” Richard A. Hewson formed the R.A.H. Band in 1976 after an illustrious career spent arranging songs for Herbie Hancock, The Beatles, Supertramp, Diana Ross and more. Hewson played most of the instruments himself, with Barry Da Souza on drums and wifey Liz Hewson providing the sugary vocals. Hewson & co’s vivid imagination is on full display on their 3rd LP Going Up, teleporting the group out of rainy England and into the favelas of Brasil, chic discoteques of uptown Manhattan and the far reaches of space. The album gets straight to the point with “Messages From The Stars,” a perfect boogie track in every possible way (real recognize real: it was Dam-Funk who first hipped us to this absolute scorcher of a track way back in 2008, on his first-ever Stones Throw mix). “Two Bodies” is the other slapper here, but don’t sleep on the sweeter cuts: “Perfumed Garden,” “Winter Love” and “Tears & Rain.” “Roll Me Down To Rio” and “Sam The Samba Man” puts a breezy bossa spin on Hewson’s cosmic boogie sound. If lush synths, vocoder and drum machines are your thing, look no further, you need this one. First-ever official vinyl reissue courtesy of Espacial Discos; remastered sound, housed in full color pic sleeve. Recommended.

  • first-ever official vinyl reissue
  • full color pic sleeve
  • music label: Espacial Discos 2017
reviewed by hannibal chew 02/2018
UPC: 84951304


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed