Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Primitive Arts (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 3LP

Peacefrog RecordsSKU dm-5747a

essential works by a true master of deep house
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

What a year for deep house reissues. After ace represses of classic LPs by Moodymann, Theo Parrish, Paul Johnson & Glenn Underground, Peacefrog continue to give the people what they want with Ron Trent’s Primitive Arts from 1999. This triple LP collects some of Trent’s most beloved tracks released on his own label, GOAT deep house imprint Prescription Records, and rounds it off with a few new cuts that easily assimilate with Trent’s best material. “Love” opens the set with the next-level polyrhythmic deepness and some anonymous vixen sprinkling sultry Italian vocals over top, and “Time” is equally deep with flecks of jazz and dub accompanying a classic 909 house groove. Nothing screams “1999” quite like two downtempo tracks tacked onto a deep house album, but the two slower inclusions on this set are vintage R.T. despite their low tempo: gorgeous pads, sublime atmosphere and deep, dubby bass. “Woman” could have easily been plucked off of a MoWax 12” from that same year, and playing “Family” at 45rpm transforms it into a killer 4hero / Bugz In The Attic-style broken beat stepper (tip!). The real bang for your buck comes on “Sometimes I Feel Like” and “I Feel The Rhythm,” both taken from Trent’s Hip To Be Disillusioned Vol. 1 from 1994, and the rare vocal version of “Morning Factory,” co-produced by Chez Damier; all classics. If you were too cheap (like me) for the Prescription boxset earlier this year, this is a rare chance to grab some of Trent’s best work in one package, so don’t blow it. 7 tracks pressed loud and clear on 6 sides of creamy yellow colored vinyl, housed in clear PVC gatefold sleeve. Recommended.

  • creamy yellow colored vinyl
  • triple vinyl pressing
  • clear PVC gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Peacefrog Records 1999 / 2017
reviewed by peanut dust 09/2017
UPC: 55335304


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed