Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Saada Bonaire Vinyl 2LP

Captured TracksSKU lp-11128

early 80s mutant disco pop unearthed
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$30.95 Original Price$35.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Unique concept band from Bremen, Germany that was never meant to be. Saada Bonaire was formed by Bremen DJ Ralf Behrendt in 1982 and took an idiosyncratic approach to the dance and pop music of the time. Fronted by Behrendt's fiancee, Stefanie Lange and her friend, Claudia Hossfeld, the music was produced by dubmaster Dennis Bovell at Kraftwerk's Cologne studios. Behrendt first enlisted a local German reggae band he managed to cover two tracks. He then overdubbed some Kurdish folk musicians he met at local immigration center, and finally added the icy female vocals. On paper it sounds like a mess and EMI, the label fronting the money for all this, may have felt the same. However, Bovell's deft hand at the controls delivered gripping enough results that the label put up for more studio time. What they ended up with was a unique fusion of husky female vocals, Eastern instruments, dub and African music aesthetics, drum computers and synthesizers. EMI would end up only releasing one single before shelving the project due to budget problems created by the band's A&R rep. This release compiles two songs from their original single along with unreleased material recorded between 1982 and 1985. Despite their age, the music feels as if it could have been released today. If you need any convincing check out "More Women," "Shut Te Door," and "Your Touch." You'll hear traces of Tom Tom Club, Flying Lizards and Soft Cell, and you might think this is the missing piece in your Italians Do It Better collection. Ten tracks in all. Black double vinyl pressing released by Captured Tracks housed in a gatefold sleeve with printed insert. Recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • printed insert
  • music label: Captured Tracks 2019
reviewed by Hank Ohs 10/2018


UPC: 817949018597


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed