Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

World Vinyl LP

DDSSKU dm-5566

minimalist house + techno from obscure Japanese producer
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Timeless collection of house and techno from Japan's Shinichi Atobe. Most of us were turned on to Atobe's minimalist productions with 2014's Butterfly Effect via Demdike Stare's DDS label. Although he'd released the Ship-Scope 12" on Chain Reaction back in 2001, Atobe's idiosyncratic brand of electronic music did not gain much of an audience until recently. The six tracks that make up World are more loop based than the electronic experimentation of Butterfly Effect, but they still reach the high bar that Atobe set with that album. His sense and use of texture is really what sets his music apart. Whether it's the subtle use of noise, fragmented percussive sounds, or the fabric of his synth patches, there is always something there to please your ears. Apparently, the material on World was recorded "some time in the last 20 years" but it sounds like it could have been put to tape as recently as yesterday. Recommended.

  • music label: DDS 2016
reviewed by lost master 08/2016
UPC: 04642120


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed