Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Inspiration Information (Music On Vinyl 180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU fr-4133

heavily-sampled guitar funk, 45th anniv edition
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"It's kinda cheesy, but it's good." Soothing west coast soul from child guitar prodigy Shuggie Otis. Many compare him to Jimi, Prince, and Sly, but in fact he's a strange blend of them all. This is his third solo album, one that really brought his diverse styles together. At this point Shuggie was working with complex but simple harmonies and the integration of drum machines. Best heard on "Island Letter" with its heavenly guitar rhythm and warm drum machine sound. A truly beautiful song. The guitar intro was sampled on Digable Planets' first LP. In the same vein "Aht Uh Mi Hed" reminds me of Timmy Thomas' classic drum machine ballad "Why Can't We Live Together". Strangely track 6 marks a switch to a completely instrumental album. The most upbeat track of this side, "XL-30," truly shows why Shuggie was seen as a revolutionary songwriter in his time. The organ melodies are so radical, and with the drum machine, it sounds like the 70s version of 80s electro. The album ends with a straight up guitar, live backing track which puts into clear view Shuggie's skills. A truly interesting listen. Special 180g flaming orange edition via Music On Vinyl, limited to 1500 individually-stamped & numbered copies. Recommended.

  • flaming orange colored vinyl
  • 45th anniversary edition
  • individually numbered / foil-stamped
  • edition of 1500
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 2019
reviewed by the mgmnt 10/2005
UPC: 8719262010208


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed