Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Kveikur (Indie Exclusive Version, Free MP3) 2LP + 10"

XL RecordingsSKU lp-5643

a new direction for Iceland's post-rock posterboys
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sometimes you find yourself on the hunt. Whatever it happens to be for, who cares. You're just out there, searching. With Kveikur Sigur Ros seem to be on that kind of a journey. The band, who now find themselves a trio, has a new home in XL Recordings and is playing with song structure in a way we have not heard from them. Past albums have featured songs that were epic in scope, topped with frontman Jónsi Birgisson's falsetto vocals. On this most recent of albums the pieces a shorter and the sound more aggressive. The grandiose elements come from heavy handed percussion rather than soaring, bowed guitars. Don't get me wrong, those guitars are still there. However, the whole enterprise appears to be headed in a more pop oriented direction. And this may be what Sigur Ros is looking for, a new direction 7 albums in to an already accomplished career. It does not look like they are going to lose any fans on this journey, just gain a few more. Limited deluxe 2LP pressing house in a gatefold sleeve, includes bonus 10".

  • music label: XL Recordings 2013
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 06/2013



UPC: 23761681


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed