Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

American Water Vinyl LP

Drag CitySKU lp-11055

the most expansive & varied album from Berman's ensemble, ft Steve Malkimus
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

American Water is the third studio album by Silver Jews, recorded at the Rare Book Room by Nicholas Vernhes and mastered at Abbey Road. The album features performances by David Berman (of course), Tim Barnes, Mike Fellows (Rites of Spring), Stephen Malkimus (Pavement, etc), and poet Chris Stroffolino. (He plays trumpet and keyboard.) The album is named after a poster seen at a veterinarian's office for American Water Spaniels, and this sort of quirky, instinctive decision-making seems to have impacted the music, which offers more variety in vibe and production than other albums by the group. The album features fan-favorite tracks “Random Rules”, “Smith & Jones Forever”, in addition to “Federal Dust” and “Blue Arrangement”, written by Berman with Malkimus. This edition of the album was been half-speed remastered at Abbey Road and is pressed on black vinyl (as it should be). 

  • black vinyl pressing
  • half-speed remastered at Abbey Road in 2018
  • original release year: 1998
  • music label: Drag City 2019
reviewed by GOLDEN GOY 01/2020 
UPC: 036172914913


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed