Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Center Won't Hold Vinyl LP+7"

Mom + Pop MusicSKU lp-10747

SK goes electro-pop on St. Vincent prod. 9th album
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$21.95 Original Price$29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Band reunions are much like genie wishes, you’d better be careful what you ask for. 
Founded in 1994 in Olympia, WA, Sleater-Kinney was influenced by the Riot Grrrl movement and is a critical part of the history of indie rock in the USA. They announced an indefinite hiatus in 2006, but made a surprise return in 2015 with a brilliant new album, No Cities Left To Love, which received universal acclaim from fans and critics, and is even considered to be their best among their fans. Now, if you keep up with indie rock news, you’ll know that longtime drummer Janet Weiss left the group shortly after the The Center Won’t Hold was released, making the LP her last with the group. The gossip mill started running, saying that Weiss left due to the group’s decision to collaborate with St. Vincent (who produced the album), but founding members Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein claim that the collaboration was originally Weiss’ idea. Either way, don’t let the circumstances of its release distract too much from what is a truly unique effort from the group. The record covers tensions, disassociation, and alienation on the global and personal scale, SK’s fierce punk roar adorned with post-punk elements like retro synths and constricted rhythms. “Love” recalls the jittery energy of Devo with clean up-front drums and keyboards and guitars used for texture more than for chords. “Hurry On Home” is a low-slung rocker, solid bass rumble with lightly filtered vocals and a raw, howling chorus that brings to mind songs like "Roam" by the B-52s. “Can I Go On” is staccato, shouted vocals and skronky guitars with a rigidly structured rhythm section. This record is pressed on heavyweight black vinyl and includes a bonus 7" and sticker sheet. 

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • includes bonus 7" single and sticker set
  • gatefold sleeve
  • limited edition
  • music label: Mom + Pop Music 2019
reviewed by GUY PIZZICATO 09/2019
UPC: 858275056310


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed