Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Disco Not Disco - Leftfield Disco Classics From The NY Underground (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 3LP - PRE-ORDER

Strut RecordsSKU lp-14824

seminal comp reissued, perfect snapshot of early 80's NY party scene
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
Pre-Order Notice
This item is scheduled to ship Late March 2024
*please read our Pre-Order Policy
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The very first Disco Not Disco compilation finally reissued! Originally released in 2000, this seminal comp acted as a gateway drug to the world of leftfield disco classics to many that would not have been exposed to this sound otherwise (this reviewer included). Here, veteran selectors Dave Lee (aka Joey Negro) and Sean P put together the perfect snapshot of the early 80's NYC party scene via an expertly curated tracklist reflecting the open-minded and forward-thinking culture that prevailed at legendary venues like The Paradise Garage and The Loft. Genre didn't matter so much as vibe, so it was not uncommon to hear the lines between rock, reggae, funk, and disco, be blurred beyond recognition (hence "disco not disco"). Includes several downtown essentials like Liquid Liquid's "Cavern" (you know, the one with that bassline), Was Not Was' funky trip "Wheel Me Out," Common Sense's Sting-penned favorite "Voices In My Head," and Yoko Ono's screechy disco oddity "Walking On Thin Ice" - plus Arthur Russell-related favorites like Dinosaur's "Kiss Me Again" and Loose Joint's party starter/ender "Tell You (Today)." Triple vinyl 2019 repress, recommended.

  • transparent yellow colored triple vinyl pressing (please note: actual pressing color and packaging may differ from mock-up photo)
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 2000
  • music label: Strut Records 2024
reviewed by Larry's Sweatband 09/2019

Pre-Order Policy

  • If you want to order additional items (including other pre-orders), please make separate orders. Otherwise, we will hold your order until all items are in stock and ready to ship.
  • Scheduled ship dates are always estimates which are subject to change. If there is a substantial delay, we will contact you directly.
  • All vinyl pre-orders come with Turntable Lab stickers.
UPC: 4062548078282


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed