Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Nigeria 70 - The Definitive Story Of 1970s Funky Lagos (180g) Vinyl 3LP+CD

StrutSKU fr-3452

sought-after afrofunk comp reissued w/ bonus CDs
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $35.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 359 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

With the renewed interest these days in afrofunk, this compilation answers a lot of questions. To begin with, the liner notes are an exhaustive little history of popular Nigerian music, culture and industry with more information than I can possibly digest. For most casual fans, the lone afrofunk idol is the legendary Fela Ransome Kuti, the undisputed king for sure, but this compilation's true purpose is to shed light on the lesser known artists who were cranking away at their own version of Lagos ventilation. However, he is included with the (apparently quite rare) "Jeun Ko Ku," pushing the heavy r&b funk sound. Whether this is really the "definitive story" or not I don't know, but it remains consistently interesting with a vast range of US, South American and European influences floating on the native African musical traditions throughout. Right now my joint is the Lijadu Sister's strong harmonic vocals, spaced out organ, and studder step on "Orere Elejigbo." That addictive sweet African chanting style gets me open every time. Also check out the great "Ikon Allah" by Bala Miller for more of that. Opening track "Alo Mi Alo" by Orlando Julius is about as good as it gets- loving that sleepy guitar like a drunk clock. This is more or less the traditional afrofunk that we expect, but the collection is laced with unexpected twists and closed out by an incredible dub influenced track from King Sunny Ade called "Ja Fun Mi." Highly listenable, accessible stuff that will make you feel the warmth of newfound beats. This welcome 2012 reissue of the original 2001 compilation comes on heavyweight triple 180 gram vinyl with three CDs - CD 1 includes the compilation plus additional bonus tracks, CD 2 features a Nigeria 70 audio documentary, and CD 3 is a one hour snapshot of the 70's Lagos scene complete with interviews with Ginger Baker, Fela Kuti, Ebenezer Obey, Segun Bucknor, Joni Haastrup of Monomono and many more. Highly Recommended.

  • 180g black triple vinyl pressing + triple CD
  • CD1 + CD2 contain full vinyl compilation tracklisting w/ 7 additional tracks
  • CD3 contains Nigeria 70 audio documentary  w/ commentary on the 70s Lagos scene by late Nigerian academic "Elder" Steve Rhodes
  • housed in deluxe gatefold sleeve w/ extensive liner notes
  • music label: Strut 2012
    reviewed by the mgmnt 06/2016
    UPC: 730003304460


    Review & Q+A


    Labheads Also Viewed