Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Out There Vinyl 2LP

Now-Again RecordsSKU fr-3051

psychedelic library breakbeat madness
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$28.95 Original Price$31.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 289 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The promo sticker on the front of this album highlights these selling points: "the drummer that backed DJ Shadow on his tour," "the drummer that Madlib sampled," etc. All I gotta say to that is... NOISE! Get outta here with that! It should say, "DJ Shadow and Madlib were lucky enough to work with and sample the man himself, MALCOLM CATTO!" It's kinda ass backwards when they hype up DJs over the musicians, you feel me? Anyways, if you don't know the name, here's your chance to get familiar. It's Malcolm Catto, biz-natches, together with Mike Burnham, Fake Ferguson and a whole band of astral players to make The Heliocentrics. I've been a die-hard fan (like most people into Catto) since his Popcorn Bubblefish EP on MoWax and The Curse of the Evil Badger off Stones Throw. Finally, after years of waiting, something entirely fresh and new. It's a mostly instrumental album, with a heavy dose of inter-dimensional space funk, laced with worldly sounds, astounding musicians and the ever-changing rhtyhms of Catto. My suggestion, pop this in your player and soak it in like you would a movie. It's that epic. But for reference, check these selections: "Distant Star," "Joyride," "Age Of The Sun," "Before I Die," "Winter Song," and "Second Chance." Like Sun Ra and other astral musicians, the whole album gives you a chance to transcend the planet once again. Get lifted. Hiiighly recommended. Double vinyl, nice pic sleeve.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • original release year: 2007
  • music label: Now-Again Records 2023
reviewed by C'mish 09/2007
UPC: 659457503116


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed