Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Damage And Joy Vinyl 2LP

Artificial Plastic RecordsSKU lp-8557

noise rock older gods return with 1st LP in 19 yrs
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"I spent the night with a blow-up girl and some LSD". The Scottish kings of D.G.A.F. are back with their first album of fuzzy stoner rock in 19 years. Brothers William and Jim Reid, notorious for their incessant petty bickering, finally split after 1998's Munki but buried the hatchet in 2007 and commenced an intermittent stream of singles and start-stop projects. With Damage And Joy, they join the ranks of My Bloody Valentine, Slowdive and Ride (all bands which were heavy influenced by J&MC) by finally releasing a new album for their unbelievably patient fanbase. The songs on D&J are a mix of brand-new material and re-recorded tracks which previously appeared on a Jim Reid solo project (tracks that "really should have been Mary Chain songs" says Jim) and one track from the Heroes soundtrack. Bill and Jim take turns on vocals like a noise rock version of The Clipse (can you tell the difference? I can't!) and deliver 53 minutes worth of their signature blown out guitar and drums; an equal mix of earnest pop and we-don't-really-give-a-shit-either-way slacker rock which reads like a pretty fair survey of all their albums to date thanks to Youth (aka Martin Glover of Killing Joke) who produced the record. "Song For A Secret", one of the album's sweeter moments, kinda sounds like the band offered Stevie Nicks and Christine McVie a bong rip and convinced them to sing on it. Not a whole lot has changed in 20 years, though, and the band are determined to remind you of that with plenty of lyrics like "My transplanted head needs a change of direction / I can't find a hole I can put my erection".

  • double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Artificial Plastic Records 2017
reviewed by dj winyl destination 04/2017
UPC: 18130376


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed