Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Tipping Point (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

GeffenSKU hh-5319

commercially ambitious but still experimental 2004 album, reunited w/ Scott Storch!
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

On their 6th album, the Roots have trimmed the MC lineup down to only Black Thought and reigned in the last album's over the top experimentalism. While this might point to them becoming a less varied and more conventional outfit; this opposite seems to be in effect. Tracks go in all different directions, leaning from the club-flavored first single "Don't Say Nothin" to the hazy and all-around amazing "Star" all the way to the closing (hidden) cover of George Kranz's euro-scat smash "Din Daa Daa." That one took some balls & humor, and we love it. People are always gonna cry foul when their heroes take a different approach, but how can you be mad at them freaking the same source that De La used for "Ego Trippin Pt 2" on "Stay Cool?" Shit is money in my book. After quickly ripping through "Web" without a hook, Black Thought goes for serious fast rap status on "Boom!," first doing his thing over a blazing late-80s drum beat, then channeling the spirit, lyrical flow and vocabulary of Big Daddy Kane and Kool G Rap for the other two verses. Pitch fucking perfect, and it had this reviewer fooled for a minute, thinking them two greats were back in top form. A little disappointing when I realized it was only Thought, but "Boom" is a wig-pushing tribute nonetheless. In addition to the "Din Daa Daa" business, this also features a bonus cover of Booker T's "Melting Pot" that is truly worth your attention (and not included on the cd version!). 13 tracks total.

  • 6th studio album from Philly hip-hop crew, originally released in 2004
  • translucent orange colored double vinyl pressing
  • includes 3 bonus tracks
  • first time on vinyl in 15 years
  • limited edition
  • music label: Geffen 2019
reviewed by the mgmnt 07/2004
UPC: 602577531965


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed