Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Meat Is Murder (180g) Vinyl LP

RhinoSKU lp-11957

political + musically adventurous sophomore LP from Manchester indie heroes, remastered
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Meat Is Murder is the album that turned The Smiths from a really good band into a really great band. Morrissey and Johnny Marr started injecting more political commentary into the writing, they famously forbade the other members from being photographed eating meat, and the band branched out their sound quite a bit as well. From the aggressive alternative rock on "The Headmaster Ritual," to the rockabilly sounds of "Rusholme Ruffians," the wistful ballad that is "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore," and the funky bass on "Barbarism Begins At Home" - probably the most club worthy track out of all of them. Of course, most Americans know it for "How Soon Is Now," but because this reissued version follows the tracklist of the original UK release, that track isn't included here. Even without that song, this one is required listening and a nice lead in to the more polished sounds that were still to come on The Queen Is Dead. 9 tracks total on thick 180g vinyl, recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • remastered sound
  • printed insert
  • music label: Rhino 2009
reviewed by Hires 05/2011
UPC: 825646658787


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed