Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Velvet Underground (Abbey Road Half-Speed Master) Vinyl LP

Verve RecordsSKU lp-12543

influential New York group's 3rd album from 1969 and 1st without John Cale
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"By the summer of 1968, The Velvet Underground had a much graver problem on its hands than commercial success (or the lack of it). A rift developed between Lou Reed and John Cale, the most creative forces in the band and, as one could expect, two temperamental egos. Reed presented the rest of the band with an ultimatum, declaring that he would leave the group unless Cale was sacked. Morrison and Tucker reluctantly sided with Lou, and Doug Yule was recruited to take Cale’s place. The group’s third album, 1969’s The Velvet Underground, was an even more radical left turn than White Light/White Heat. The volume and violence had nearly vanished; the record featured far more conventional rock arrangements that were sometimes so restrained it seems as though they were making an almost deliberate attempt to avoid waking the neighbours. Yet the sound was nonetheless effective for that; the record contains some of Reed’s most personal and striking compositions, numbers like 'Pale Blue Eyes' and 'Candy Says' ranking among his most romantic, although cuts like 'What Goes On' proved they could still rock out convincingly." - Verve Records

  • The Velvet Underground's self-titled third album, originally released in 1969 (not to be confused with The Velvet Underground & Nico LP)
  • black vinyl pressing
  • half-speed remaster cut at Abbey Road Studios
  • music label: Verve Records 2021


UPC: 602577440007


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed