Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Online Vinyl LP

Broken CirclesSKU lp-10693

hazy & chill alt-R&B slow burners
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $15.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Triathalon is an R&B group from Savannah, GA but currently based in Brooklyn. Their earlier records spanned a variety of indie rock-adjacent genres, but the purchase of a flea market Casio and the change of location to NYC introduced the influence of hip hop, jazz, and soul music. Their production is woozy and eclectic, nostalgic and familiar without redundancy.  Online is a true product of the post-Youtube age of music discovery. Band member Hunter Jayne writes “These songs reflect the struggles of balancing normal life and music life, having personal relationships, and being on tour. It explores how the internet affects our perceptions as individuals and as artists. In the process of making this album we were in different places not only geographically, but also artistically.” “Couch” is layered Blood Orange falsetto over chirping keyboard vamps, crisp snares and clean bass rumble. “Hard To Move” begins with a prefab-sounding rhythm but blooms into sunny funk, monotone vocals standing in contrast to instrumental flourishes. “Bad Mood” is breaks that echo into oblivion, set aside for a momentary voice-and-bass breakdown. Recommended for fans of ‘chill’ music in general - LoFi hip hop, Washed Out, v*porwave, etc.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Broken Circles 2019
reviewed by #soft 07/2019
UPC: 616892562146

Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed