Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Psyence Fiction Vinyl 2LP

Mo WaxSKU lp-10358

if you ever opened an album and wanted to be surprised by each track, this is it
3 Reviews
| 1 answered question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Critically derided on it's release in '98, Psyence Fiction has gained cult status for its chaotic collages and maverick collaboration, becoming an album that gains momentum on repeated listens and has since been referred to as one of the best albums of its era. The creation of the album was helmed by Mo Wax founder (and general savant) James Lavelle and the "Jimi Hendrix of the sampler" DJ Shadow, and features an all-star cast of guests. Before crossing disparate music scenes were the norm (see: Gorillaz, Solange or even Paul's Boutique), this album was a beacon of what was to come in the music world. It's a superstar project that wouldn't play it safe, a "let’s-break-the-rules-and-not-give-a-f**k-all" approach that is mirrored in the eclectic guest appearances. You've got Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, Beastie Boys’ Mike D, The Verve’s Richard Ashcroft, Kool G Rap, The Stone Roses' Ian Brown, as well as further instrumental contributions from Metallica’s Jason Newsted and Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis. Loosely tied together through eerie sci-fi samples (as well as Shadow's trademark aesthetic), the album plays like a surreal film soundtrack that exists in Shadow's and Lavelle's heads. Tracks to check out are the opener "Guns Blazing (Drums Of Death, Pt 1)" with the cracking drums and spacey sound bites that reinforce Kool G Rap's ferocious lyrical onslaught, the Portishead sounding "Bloodstain" (featuring Alice Temple), the moody and hypnotic "Lonely Soul," the Beastie fever-dreamed "The Knock", and the penultimate track "Rabbit in Your Headlights," featuring a haunting piano ballad over Thom Yorke's warbling vocals (peep the bizarre music video for the track, directed by Jonathan Glazer. 13 tracks in all on 2 LP's, released by Mo Wax. Recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeves
  • original release year: 1998
  • music label: Mo Wax 2019
reviewed by Ralphy Corduroy 2/2019
UPC: 602567593867


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed