Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Warsaw (Joy Division) Vinyl LP

DOLSKU lp-10921

rare 1978 recording session, includes old faves & unreleased rarities
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $16.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 169 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Before Joy Division, They were Warsaw. (They were also briefly known as the Stiff Kittens, but the concise version of the legend plays better.) This was one of the first recording sessions undertaken by the Mancunian foursome, recorded in May 1978 while the still-gestating group was being courted by RCA Records. (These tracks are commonly known in the JD fandom as the “RCA Sessions”.) Most of this material remains unreleased, with only three tracks on 1997’s otherwise quite exhaustive Heart and Soul CD Box Set (“The Drawback”, “Interzone”, “Shadowplay”). Martin Hannett had yet to lend his metallic edge, so the group sounds pretty raw and rugged, far closer to ‘OG punk’ than the crystalline melodrama of Unknown Pleasures and funereal emotion of Closer. Ian Curtis hasn’t quite figured out his booming, sneering baritone, Stephen Morris’ drums are like mere raindrops on a windowsill, Peter Hook’s basslines haven’t yet begun to peek out from the typical rhythm section. Bernie …. well, he was having a bit of an identity crisis. (He figured it out in the end.) But the songs are there in embryonic form, and played with a freshness and energy that's a bit surprising for this rather dour, serious group. This record neatly documents the early development of one of the most iconic and beguiling bands in recent memory. Includes early versions of truly iconic Joy Division tracks such as “Leaders of Men”, “Transmission” and “Shadowplay”, also includes unreleased tracks such as “No Love Lost”, “Failures” and “Living In The Ice Age”. Black vinyl pressing in picture sleeve. 

  • black vinyl pressing
  • limited edition
  • music label: DOL 2019
reviewed by 24 HOUR PARTY PERSON 10/2019
UPC: 889397219819


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed