Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Yeah Yeah Yeahs Vinyl LP

Touch And GoSKU lp-7700

breakout 2001 EP from NYC trio
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $18.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 189 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

This five song EP set it all off for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. The NYC trio is obviously huge now, but this 13-minute 2001 debut had two things going for it that seemed to get lost on later full-lengths. First off the, sound is raw - real raw, like Pete Rock wouldn't even step in their basement raw. Secondly the cover art is impossible to ignore, a full sleeve photo of lead singer Karen O's bare chest, covered up with only a gold chain inscribed with the word "MASTER." The YYY's represent the more punk side of NY's rock rebirth with the opening track "Bang" that gives me an image of Ms. O prancing around the stage spilling beer on her miniskirt and fucking up shit, all while maintaining a feminine demeanor. She does the Blondie "Rapture" thing on "Art Star," by rhyming in all cute, but with an aggressive hook. By now I must sound obsessed with Karen O, but it's not my fault - she really makes the group for me. Also check "Mystery Girl" and "Miles Away," and tell me you really care about anything but the girl.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • digital download included
  • music label: Touch & Go Records 2002
reviewed by jms 04/2016
UPC: 036172093816


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed