Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Yesterday's Universe (Madlib) Vinyl 2LP

Stones ThrowSKU fr-3533

fusion jazz things from Madlib alias
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Back on double vinyl. Madlib continues to travel to where no beatmaker has gone before. Don't get me wrong, the Beatkonducta and the collaboration releases have been stellar, but it seems that YNQ is Madlib's real passion... especially this particular album. Madlib steps up the signature randomness here, you can see it in the track order, titles, and expanded cast of aliases. Get into the music, and it only gets deeper. I tried to give this a listen sitting at my desk, but it's so dense and thoughtful, that I felt like I needed to be at home to truly absorb this mind meld. Here's a little bit of categorization to get you started. Beats: "Street Talkin, She's Gonna Stay (some truly beautiful shit), Free Son, Vibes From The Tribe Suite (a 12 minute cover of Phil Ranelin's classic). Jazz things: "Marcus, Martin & Malcolm, Bitches Brew, Two For Strata East," and "Slave Riot." From a design perspective, this is one of my favorite sleeves of recent memory. Inside, you'll find fictitious but super-realistic record sleeves (done in 70s independent jazz style) from YNQ's imaginary world. 15 tracks, highly recommended.

  • music label: Stones Throw 2007
reviewed by the mgmnt 10/2016
UPC: 95363208


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed