Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Rocket Vinyl LP

DominoSKU lp-13693

2017 indie folk rock ouput
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Seventh studio album from prolific Philadelphian indie rocker Alex G. Rocket finds the hyper productive Alex Giannascoli turning in some of his most accessible work to date. His earlier material found a cultish following on Bandcamp with fans trading tapes and files of his varied takes on indie rock. Comparisons to Elliott Smith abound, but the myriad of ways he attacks a song sets him apart from the bard of the Pacific Northwest. With 2015's Beach Music he signed to Domino and drew a wider fan base. Most notably he attracted the attention of Frank Ocean who invited him to collaborate on his two 2016 releases, Endless and Blonde. But his own work stands apart from whatever those connections might award him. He offers up some more traditionally "rock" material with songs like "Proud" and "Judge," but at the same time veers off into more exploratory territory. There's the shimmering dream pop of "Witch" and "Alina," and the wild instrumental "Horse." With those and everything in between you get the sense that Giannascoli is ready to try anything and everything. And he nearly always hits his mark. Fourteen tracks in all. Released by Domino on black vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve with code for digital download.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • digital download included
  • music label: Domino 2017
reviewed by misguided and excited 06/2017



UPC: 887828039814


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed