Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Gone - The Promises Of Yesterday Vinyl LP

Numero GroupSKU fr-4043

unearthing the unrealized follow-up to the sample-haven soul group
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$18.95 Original Price$23.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 189 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

From the stacks of Stax comes sensuous, tainted love songs from the same group that brought about the criminally slept on concept album Ghetto: Misfortune's Wealth. Up until recently, the story of 24-Carat Black seemingly begins and ends with the release of their sole debut album, eventually sampled numerous times by thet likes of Digable Planets and Jay Z. While Ghetto: Misfortune's Wealth was a product of it's time period, a time when the Civil Rights movement had achieved its most tangible goals and had to contend with more abstract hardships such as ingrained prejudice and systemic inequality, Gone - The Promises Of Yesterday is a timeless deep soul collection. Hibernating in keyboardist and session engineer Bruce Thompson's basement for 35 years, the tapes of Gone progressively decayed and had fallen into soggy disrepair. Only the 6 tracks presented here are what was salvageable, but these 6 cuts are all killer, absolutely no filler. Exploring themes of desire and heartbreak, the album grooves, but not in the traditional dancefloor sense (peep the included audio samples for a taste of this buried treasure). For fans of that early-70's conscious soul, think Isaac Hayes, The Pharaohs, Black Renaissance, or even The Temptations. 6 tracks in all, includes a printed inner that features archived photos and liner notes. Released by Numero Group. Recommended.

  • printed inner w/ liner notes
  • music label: Numero Group 2019
reviewed by Ralphy Corduroy 2/2019
UPC: 825764102513


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed