Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Plays "Heroes" (David Bowie, Philip Glass, Indie Exclusive) Vinyl LP

Merge RecordsSKU lp-10392

a tribute to Philip Glass's interpretation of classic '77 Bowie work
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$12.95 Original Price$19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 129 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

A Merge Group consists of Dan Bejar of Destroyer, Superchunk frontman and Merge co-founder Mac McCaughan, guitarist William Tyler, Jenn Wasner of Wye Oak, Megafaun's Brad Cook, and jazz composer/saxophonist Ken Vandermark. To celebrate Philip Glass's 80th birthday, the squad gathered in Chapel Hill to record this album as a tribute to the revered composer's interpretation—Symphony No. 4—of David Bowie's classic 1977 LP, Heroes. Glass, in conjunction with the aforementioned artists, decided on the tracklist: "Abdulmajid" was added, plus "Beauty and the Beast" and "Joe the Lion," which Glass left off for Symphony No.4, are also included. Check out "Heroes," which is A Merge Group's version of Glass's version of a Bowie smash (co-written by Brian Eno), and you can sense the excitement of everyone involved with the project, something that can also be said of the entire 8-tracker. Check out "Sons of the Silent Age," "Neukoln," and "Sense of Doubt."

  • recorded live on 3/5/17 in Memorial Hall, Chapel Hill, NC
  • music label: Merge Records 2019
reviewed by singing in japanese 02/19
UPC: 673855064116


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed