Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Orphaned Deejay Selek 2006-08 (Aphex Twin) Vinyl 12"

Warp RecordsSKU dm-5303

Richard D. James returns to the acid
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

It's been nearly ten years since we last heard from AFX. Back then Aphex Twin, nee Richard D. James, gave us the eleven part Analord series on his own Rephlex Records. But he's been on a roll ever since releasing 2014's Grammy winning Syro under his main moniker. So it's no surprise that we get a little side dish of AFX as well. Orphaned Deejay Selek 2006-08 is split between a heavy does of acidic cuts and more beat oriented material. The names of the tracks seem to reference the gear that was used and almost seem like their working titles. "Oberheim Blacet1b" is probably the stand out of the acid bunch. Hyper kinetic rhythms ride along side a constantly transforming 303 line as metallic chords wash in from the shore. The b side is more varied as the tempos gradually wind down to the sparse funk of "R8m Neotek Beat." It's a more than welcome return from James' AFX side.

  • music label: Warp Records 2015
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 08/2015
UPC: 77780228


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed