Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Awakening (Verve By Request Series 180g) Vinyl LP

Impulse!SKU fr-4865

all-time killer 1970 jazz trio recording, HQ reissue cut at Third Man in Detroit
2 Reviews
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Ahmad Jamal Trio is Ahmad Jamal on piano, Jamil Nasser on bass and the monster Frank Gant on drums. On what is perhaps the finest post-bop, pre-fusion jazz record of all time, the trio tear through standards by Herbie Hancock ("Dolphin Dance") and Antonio Carlos Jobim ("Wave"), a few of Jamal’s own compositions ("The Awakening", "Patterns"), and a roaring rendition of Emil Boyd and Hale Smith’s "I Love Music". The Awakening is equally revered in hip-hop and jazz circles, having been sampled on certified classics by Nas, Common, Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, Gang Starr and Jeru The Damaja, and more recently on Steven Julien a.k.a. Funkineven’s "XL". Original copies (even reissues) are outrageously impossible to find; I like to imagine all the golden era producers in the 90s conspiring to buy them all up, lock them in a secret bunker buried 2,000 feet below Queensbridge and throw away the key. 180 gram reissue cut at Third Man Pressing in Detroit from a newly remastered transfer. Recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • Verve By Request edition pressed at Third Man Pressing in Detroit
  • newly remastered
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ liner notes
  • featuring Ahmad Jamal (p), Jamil Nasser (b), Frank Gant (d)
  • original release year: 1970
  • music label: Impulse! 2023
reviewed by nick nightingale 03/2017
UPC: 602448476111


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed