Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

New Grass Vinyl LP

Third Man RecordsSKU fr-4313

1968 shock therapy from avantgarde saxophonist on Impulse
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$22.95 Original Price$29.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

“New Grass was remarkably unsuccessful, scorned by Albert Ayler fans and critics alike. We can’t recommend this record highly enough, and are confident that it won’t take but one listen for you to understand New Grass is an undeniable healing force.” - Third Man Records

It’s true, everyone hated this record in 1968. But shone through a 21st century prism, New Grass sparkles in an entirely new light. Shock therapy opener “Message From Albert” slices you wide open, allowing for the overtly soulful “New Generation” and “Sun Watcher” to seep in. The remaining tracks are all over the place, deploying space echo, inspirational vocal passages, JB-level breakbeats and funky basslines for a highly invigorating long play session. Not to mention the cover design, definite contender for top 5 Impulse sleeves. Most reissue labels wouldn’t touch this one with a fifty foot pole; respek to Third Man for serving it up and for keeping the signature orange spine intact (almost everyone gets this wrong).

  • black vinyl pressing
  • housed in repro gatefold sleeve w/ original liner notes
  • first time on vinyl since 1976
  • featuring Albert Ayler (t. sax), Seldon Powell (t. sax, flute), Buddy Lucas (b. sax), Garnett Brown (trombone), Burt Collins (t), Joe Newman (t),  Call Cobbs (p), Bill Folwell (b), Pretty Purdie (d)
  • music label: Third Man Records 2020
reviewed by nick nightingale 07/2020
UPC: 813547028259


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed