Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Common Wonder (Common vs. Stevie Wonder) Vinyl 2LP

Soul MatesSKU hh-4811

conscious Chicago rapper paired up w/ a Motown legend
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

The latest in the Soul Mates Project series! This time around, Amerigo Gazaway pairs Chicago rapper Common's conscious lyrics w/ various Stevie Wonder gems — vocals, and a "slew of uncovered resources— and the result is a vivid hip-hop-meets-soul project that goes way further and deeper than a typical "mashup" release. The deconstructed samples are re-orchestrated and Gazaway's ability to interweave multi-track instrument stems, interview audio, and documentary sound bites into the 15-tracker is amazing. Gazaway adds: "Stevie Wonder's early use of synthesizers, drum machines, and samples, in a lot of ways, paved the way for hip-hop and sampling. Part of my motivation for this project was to highlight those contributions." We're certainly sold! Check out "Living For The Chi-City," "The Sixth Superstition," "The Light (I'm Yours)," "Southside," and "I Was Made To Love H.E.R."

  • music label: Soul Mates 2016
reviewed by nakaveli 10/2017


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed