Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

African Scream Contest 2 Vinyl 2LP

Analog AfricaSKU fr-3906

energetic funk from 1970s Benin + Togo
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Dja Dja Dja! Analog Africa present another finely-packaged collection documenting the fusion of rock, psych, funk, soul and even Latin sounds to the music of 1970s Benin and Togo, a whopping 10 years on from the original African Scream Contest. The comp's title stems from the fact that bands from the two small African countries took to screaming on their tracks, James Brown style, but don't let that fool you - this is no group of half-assed JB impersonators. Check the bubbly blaxploitation vibes of Les Sympathics de Porto Novo’s “A Min We Vo Nou We” or the sleazy lounge grooves of Ignace de Souza & The Melody Aces’ “Asaw Fofor,” with the shuffling organ line and De Souza’s shaky vocal delivery sounding something like The Doors In Africa. More to check: Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou’s “Moulon Devia,” Lokonon André Et L'Orchestre Les Volcans’ “Glenon Ho Akue,” Gnonnas Pedro And His Dadjes Band’s “How Much Love Naturally Cost” and Sebastien Pynasco & L'Orchestre Black Santiago’s “Sadé” (sadly, it’s not about that Sade). 14 tracks altogether, pressed on double vinyl and housed in deluxe gatefold in fine Analog Africa style. Includes 24-page booklet containing photos, album art and extensive liner notes.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • includes 24-page booklet
  • digital download included
  • music label: Analog Africa 2018
reviewed by spooning good singing gum 07/2018
UPC: 41395064


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed