Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Fly Me To The Sun (Coloursound) Vinyl LP

Be With RecordsSKU lp-13710

eclectic synth-funk library music rarity, 1st time on vinyl in 40 years
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $35.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 359 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Fly Me To The Sun is a breathtaking German library gem from the hallowed Coloursound label. It features two Polish composers, Andrzej Marko and André Mikola. Outré synth-funk. Almost blindingly luminous with positive vibes and radiant optimism, Fly Me To The Sun is a collection of funky, sun-dappled compositions for synthesizer and live instruments like drums, bass, and guitar. A dope blend of beatbox driven future jazz and electro pop. The wonderfully sleaze-adjacent opener 'Dhamma' includes some grandiose piano chords amid floating ambient sounds a la Steve Hillage with slick drums entering the fray at a languid pace. 'Circulation' sounds like Bowie ran into Chaz Jankel during an extended stay in Los Angeles, the Thin White Duke emerging out of a studio at 6am, bleary-eyed and clutching this filthy, bleepy instrumental of sonic smut. 'Magic Scenery' is as delicate and astounding as the title suggests, a deep ambient movement conjuring halcyon images of rolling fields with abundant fauna and flora. Cool, slo-mo breaks adorn the strutting melancholy of 'Longing for Tomorrow' and 'Nocturnal Flowers' to close out Side A. Skip the title track, which opens up Side B, and head straight to 'Birth of a Butterfly' for a slice of creeping digi-dub-soul niceness. This should've been front-and-center of that Personal Space compilation a decade ago. Raising both the tempo and the temperature, 'Riding on a Sunbeam' continues in the mesmerizing cosmic funk style before 'Osmosis', one of the clear stand-outs, presents a fine vintage synth solo over a mellow funky rubberband beat. The closing track, 'Solar Heating', warms things up with slapped bass and bold drum machine beats and the synth lends sci-fi vibes to the dark dub-funk-reggae rhythm. Sourced from original analog tapes. Remastered for vinyl by Simon Francis." - Be With Records

  • eclectic synth-funk library record, originally released on the cult Coloursound Library imprint in Germany
  • first time on vinyl in 40 years
  • black vinyl pressing
  • original release year: 1983
  • music label: Be With Records 2023
UPC: 4251804128070


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed