Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Twin Peaks - Limited Event Series Soundtrack (180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Death Waltz Recording Co.SKU lp-10663

original soundtrack / score to the 2017 series
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 499 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Helloooo-ooo-ooo! Rhino celebrate the rich musical tapestry of the new Twin Peaks limited series by dividing it into two double vinyl sets; one containing the ‘soundtrack’ by David Lynch and his collaborators (this), and another containing musical performances by indie artists appearing in person on the show. While the original series relied heavily on music to accentuate the mood of nearly every scene (remember that ubiquitous sleazy jazz lounge music?), Lynch enhances the eerie and bizarre vibe of the new series by doing the exact opposite - doing away with music almost entirely. Instead, Lynch and longtime collaborator Angelo Badalamenti carefully posit pieces of music in key scenes to fill in narrative gaps left by his confounding script, and the long stretches without music allow the soundtrack to hit even harder once it comes in. A few standout soundtrack moments in the new series so far: “Laura Palmer’s Theme” cued when Bobby Briggs is overcome with emotion after seeing a photograph of Laura, Evil Cooper’s car lurching down a backwoods road in slow motion soundtracked by a chopped & screwed version of Muddy Magnolias’ “American Woman” (labeled the ‘David Lynch Remix’ here), Dougie Jones learning how to eat pancakes to Dave Brubeck’s “Take Five” (sadly not included here), Penderecki’s “Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima” literally soundtracking an atomic bomb explosion. Admitted Lynchophile Johnny Jewel (Chromatics, Glass Candy, Symmetry, Italians Do It Better label boss) appears here twice; once with solo track “Windswept,” which seems tailor-made for Twin Peaks, and again on the Chromatics’ instrumental rendition of Desire’s “Saturday” (the Chromatics also appear on Twin Peaks: Music From The Limited Event Series, with their wonderful 2016 single “Shadow,” alongside the rest of the musical acts who perform live at the show’s Bang Bang Bar). Lynch and Badalamenti re-cue a few key pieces from the original series soundtrack (“Falling” of course, “Dark Mood Woods / The Red Room,” “Deer Meadow Shuffle”) in addition to contributing new pieces (“Grady Groove,” “Slow 30’s Room”). 18 tracks altogether on double 180 gram colored vinyl (machine room grey + cherry pie splatter), housed in custom gatefold jacket w/ die-cut slip sleeve and obi strip. Recommended.

  • 180 gram colored double vinyl pressing (machine room grey + cherry pie splatter)
  • gatefold jacket w/ die-cut slip sleeve + obi strip
  • music label: Death Waltz Recording Co. 2019
reviewed by peanut dust 08/2017
UPC: 5053760046677


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed