Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

With Thelonious Monk Vinyl 2LP

AtlanticSKU fr-4876

deluxe 2LP edition w/ full disc of rare alternate takes
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers with Thelonious Monk is a studio album originally released in 1958 by Atlantic Records. It is a collaboration between the Jazz Messengers, the group led by drummer Art Blakey, and Thelonious Monk on piano. Throughout the preceding decade, on sessions for both Blue Note and Riverside, Blakey had supported Monk on various occasions. Monk returned the favor on this one-off session for Atlantic. Blakey was on the verge of beginning a long-term contract with Blue Note, while Monk was in the middle of his stay on Riverside. One month after these recordings, Monk would begin his summer and autumn residency at the Five Spot on Cooper Square after regaining his cabaret card, without which he had been barred from playing in most of New York City's clubs. Monk's quartet featuring John Coltrane at that residency would bring Monk fame beyond the inner circle of jazz aficionados. Atlantic released this album over a year after it was recorded, thereby capitalizing on Monk's increased visibility." - Atlantic

  • deluxe 2LP edition w/ full disc of rare alternate takes
  • black double vinyl pressing
  • mono sound
  • remastered from the original tapes
  • includes 12 page booklet w/ liner notes, rare photos + ephemera
  • printed inner sleeves
  • featuring Thelonious Monk (p), Art Blakey (d), Johnny Griffin (t. sax), Bill Hardman (t), Spanky DeBrest (b)
  • original release year: 1958
  • music label: Atlantic 2022
UPC: 603497842391


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed