Badbadnotgood IV Vinyl 2LP

Free Shipping
Vinyl 2LP $19.95
Pin It



Badbadnotgood is the truth. The Canadian quartet of Matthew Tavares on keys, Chester Hansen on bass, Alex Sowinski on drums & Leland Whitty on saxophone are back with their most impressive and ambitious project to date. After a wicked collaboration with Ghostface Killah (2015's Sour Soul) BBNG return with their fourth full length album (simply titled IV) that once again finds the group pushing jazz to the masses in a major way. Innovative Leisure put it best by saying it sounds "something like a jam session in space between Can, John Coltrane, Herbie Hancock’s Headhunters, Weather Report, Arthur Russell & MF DOOM," and after giving it the inaugural listen, we couldn't agree more. This is jazz for modern ears that is both accessible and forward thinking at the same time. Highlights include "Time Moves Slow" with Sam Herring of Future Islands, "Lavender" with Montreal's Kaytranada, "Confessions Pt. 2" with Colin Stetson, and "Hyssop of Love” with left field raps from Mick Jenkins. Double vinyl with gatefold sleeve.

  • gatefold sleeve
  • digital download included
  • music label: Innovative Leisure 2016
reviewed by neck cork 07/2016