Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Phylyps Trak Vinyl (Mark Ernestus, Moritz von Oswald) 12"

Basic ChannelSKU dm-4984

one of the blueprints of techno, essential release
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $11.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 119 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

You've got to wonder what it must have been like to hear "Phylyps Trak" when it first came out in 1993. The fact that, 20 years on, it still sounds amazing makes it seem that it would have been pretty mind blowing when it was released. Basic Channel, the duo of Mark Ernestus and Moritz von Oswald, take those Detroit techno chords and run them through a studios worth of German engineered effects. The end result is something otherworldly and was totally unique to them at the time. From there they add a minimally programmed 909 and pretty much set the blueprint for so much of that dub techno that was to come. "Phylyps Base" strips things down and adds some more space to the sonic density. Perhaps a little easier to digest for some. The 12" closes out with "Axis" which builds on the formula and ups the tempo a bit. Absolutely essential record for any techno head. If you're going to only own one from Basic Channel, make it this one. Recommended.

  • music label: Basic Channel 1993 / 2014
reviewed by Joey Coco 08/2014
UPC: 91923957


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed