Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Depression Cherry (Chrome Red Cover) Vinyl LP

Sub PopSKU lp-13306

back to basics 2015 studio album, one of their best
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Fifth studio album from Baltimore's Beach House. Depression Cherry was recorded between November 2014 and January 2015 at Studio in the Country in Bogalusa, Louisiana. The record was co-produced by Chris Coady, who worked on their previous two records, 2010's Teen Dream and 2012's Bloom. Due to their dissatisfaction with the sound of live drums on the tour to support Bloom, the band returned to the simpler arrangements of their first two albums. They seem to reject the idea that bigger is better and the results are quite stunning. The sound is intimate while maintaining a vast presence, melancholic with a imbued sense of hopefulness. There are traces of Stereolab and My Blood Valentine with Phil Spector's Wall of Sound popping up throughout the album, particularly on the transcendent "PPP." Victoria Legrand's vocals float beautifully over the band's unabashedly artificial productions. Bathed in touches of reverb, her voice melts into the surroundings. With Depression Cherry Beach House has made a welcome return to the sound that defined their particular strain of dream pop while pushing it forward. Includes the songs: "Space Song," "Bluebird," "Sparks," and "Days Of Candy." Nine tracks in all. 2022 Sub Pop reissue with metallic red foil sleeve.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • metallic foil sleeve w/ printed insert
  • original release year: 2015
  • music label: Sub Pop 2022
reviewed by Frank Booth 09/2015
UPC: 098787112214


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed