Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

To The 5 Boroughs Vinyl 2LP

CapitolSKU hh-4842

ch-check it out, 6th from Ad-Rock, MCA, and Mike D
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Asian, Middle-Eastern and Latin / Black, White, New York you make it happen." Post-9/11 album from The 5 Boroughs' own! Mike D, MCA (rip), and Ad-Rock pay tribute to the city that raised them, offering commentary on the wider implications of the tragedy that shook up NY (and the world) some years prior. Gotta love the hand-drawn(?) cover showing the Twin Towers still standing. The conviction and lyrical dexterity with which the trio employs to talk about the issues is where the genius of this full-length lies at: the obscure pop-culture references, humor, and tales of old New York are all classic Beasties but updated and specially formulated for consumption by the world still recovering from ramifications the September 11 attacks. In terms of production, the Boys benefit from MixMaster Mike's one-turntable-and-a-mixer style, and the stripped down beats offer plenty of room for the rhymes to shine on. Highlights: "An Open Letter To NYC," "Ch-Check It Out," "Triple Trouble," "Hey Fuck You," and "Right Right Now Now."  

  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: UMe 2017
reviewed by nakinboots 01/2018
UPC: 50275592


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed