Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Betty Davis (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Light In The AtticSKU fr-5031

scorching '73 debut from Bay Area's queen of psychedelic funk
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Betty Davis is a landmark figure in funk music, the stylistic forerunner of all self-proclaimed "freaky b*tches" out there today. She was a model who had her first song published before she was twenty ("Uptown" by the Chambers Brothers) and went on to marry, and divorce, Miles Davis before she was 25. She turned Miles on to electric funk (he named several compositions for her) and was tight with Hendrix and Sly & the Family Stone. Their influences are all over her music and in fact much of her band came from the Sly/Graham Central Station crew. The sound is early 70's Bay Area hard funk, meaning rugged drums (courtesy of Gregg Errico) and acid-tinged guitar (Neal Schon!), that provide many an open break and generally work it all the way through. Her scorching vocals may take a little getting used to for some, but are the perfect match for her bad ass lyrics. This is her first album, and contains what may be her best tune, "Anti Love Song." Sampled aplenty (ol' heads might remember Godfather Don's "Piece of the Action") and essential for any Valentines gig. "If I'm In Luck I Might Get Picked Up" demonstrates she just didn't give a F long before Marshall. Also take a listen to her on "Game Is My Middle Name" and "Steppin In Her I Miller Shoes." This record has a bit more of a rocked out flavor than the next, but Betty Davis' over the top attitude carries the weight easily. 8 tracks total on deluxe coke bottle clear vinyl with fully remastered sound from the original tapes courtesy of LITA

  • coke bottle clear colored vinyl
  • remastered from the original tapes
  • includes obi strip + 20 page liner note booklet
  • printed inner sleeve
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1973
  • music label: Light In The Attic 2023
reviewed by Monk 09/2016



UPC: 826853026116


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed