Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Capacity Vinyl LP

Saddle CreekSKU lp-11091

intimate 2nd record from accomplished indie-folk band
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Capacity is the second album by Big Thief, recorded in snowbound upstate New York with now-frequent collaborator Andrew Sarlo. The tracks on Capacity were generally played for the first time and then recorded on the very same day, lending a raw and immediate feel to each. The band is clearly led by lead guitar and vocalist Adrianne Lenker, but it’s impossible to deny the sonic chemistry she has with with Buck Meek (guitar), Max Oleartchik (bass), and James Krivchenia (drums). “There is a darker darkness and a lighter light on this album,” Lenker explains. “The songs search for a deeper level of self-acceptance, to embrace the world within and without. I think Masterpiece began that process, as a reaction from inside the pain, whereas I feel Capacity examines the pain from the outside.” “Pretty Things” is all-encompassing acoustic guitar and Lenker’s distinct drawl, backed only by room tone and incidental texture. “Shark Smile” begins with a crash of ricocheting drums and surf-tinged guitar, leading the way to punchy drums and soft strums. “Mythological Beauty” begins with jauntry drumrolls and cheery cymbals, Lenker’s deadpan vocals slipping between layers of guitar interplay. This album arrives in a gatefold jacket with full lyrics and liner notes, and is pressed on black vinyl. Recommended.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve with lyrics & liner notes
  • digital download included
  • music label: Saddle Creek 2019
reviewed by HAMBURGLAR 02/2020
UPC: 648401025514


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed