Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Two Hands (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

4ADSKU lp-10931

intimate & raw, political music without political language
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$20.95 Original Price$22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

This music was recorded 30 Miles west of El Paso, surrounded by 3,000 acres of pecan orchards, but the players were mere inches from each other. Big Thief is Adrianne Lenker, Buck Meek, Max Oleartchik, and James Krivchenia, and Two Hands is their most important collection of songs yet. Released a mere 5 months after the cosmic and mysterious U.F.O.F., Two Hands is as parched as the Roswell desert. The record is ultimately about the earth and the very real dangers to it that seem to increase by the day. “Two Hands has the songs that I’m the most proud of; I can imagine myself singing them when I’m old,” says Lenker, “Musically and lyrically, you can’t break it down much further than this.  It’s already bare-bones.” Dom Monks and Andrew Sarlo return as producers, but mainly focus on an honest documentation of the sounds made live in the studio. “Forgotten Eyes” demonstrates the neat soundstage, Lenker’s live-take vocals shimmering and crackling alike. “Two Hands” begins with intertwined guitar and shuffling percussion that is later cut through with thick slabs of bass and perfectly integrated acoustic flourishes. “Not” is more foreboding, a slinky bassline and harrowing vocals barrel towards dueling guitar solos as the song ramps up, then burns out to amp buzz. This album is pressed on indie exclusive desert peach vinyl.

  • indie exclusive "desert peach" colored vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: 4AD 2019
reviewed by STAN RIDGEWAY 09/2019
UPC: 191400018082


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed